Danny Boyland Novels

Danny Boy; Cases Closed; Mommy, Mommy; Forever Young; The Marsh Mallows; The Group; and Broken Windows feature homicide Detective Danny Boyland. These stories follow Danny's career from the time he joins the homicide squad (with a flashback in Mommy, Mommy to his rookie days in uniform) to his pending retirement in Broken Windows.

Second expanded edition available in paperback only

Buy on Amazon or Barnes & Noble

Danny Boy, the first novel in the Daniel Boyland series.

When homicide detective Daniel Boyland investigates his first big murder case, the poisoning death of school teacher Laura Samuels, he falls in love with the chief murder suspect, Niki Wells, with disastrous results. By cleverly manipulating the forensic evidence and witness testimony, Niki frames Danny for the murder. His struggle to prove his innocence and reclaim his family and career push the story to its conclusion. But there’s a big problem. He still loves her. Or does he? And she still loves him. Or does she just want to tie up her last “loose end” and enjoy the good life with her ill-gotten insurance money?

Second edition

Buy on Amazon or Barnes & Noble

Cases Closed, the second novel in the Daniel Boyland series

A new whodunit begins for Danny and his partner Virgil "Spider" Webb, a mystery involving two dead bodies found on a golf course and two dead bodies from 34 years ago, a case which has never been solved. The story will keep you in suspense right up to the end as the Governor of New York agonizes over allowing, or preventing, his childhood friend to perish from a lethal injection in the death chamber.

Judge, Writer's Digest 21st Annual Self-Published Book Awards - "...a prime example of a well-written mystery and suspense novel by someone who knows how the system works. From the first page to the last, readers will be riveted to the story and not be able to put it down..."

Mommy, Mommy, the third novel in the Danny Boyland series.

Rookie police officer Danny Boyland gets a radio call to respond to the Chandler household and discovers Jim Chandler dead after a fall down the basement stairs. Jim's wife Angela is suspected of pushing him down the stairs, but no evidence exists to arrest her. A few days after Jim's funeral, Angela abandons their only child, nine-year old Frankie Chandler, fleeing to California. Frankie becomes a ward of the State and prays for the return of his mother. She never comes back, and when Frankie turns 18, he begins to search for her. And when he finally does find her, leaving a trail of dead women in his wake, revenge is his. Or is it? And who really was Angela? And if she was not his real mother, who was? The story will keep you turning the pages right up to the final confrontation between Frankie and Danny.

Kirkus Reviews - "...a mesmerizing killer makes this story a triumph..."

Judge, 22nd Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards - '...a great plot full of twists and surprises along the way...Danny was tough, yet tragic at the same time, a beautifully crafted character that was a pleasure to read..."

Forever Young, the fourth novel in the Danny Boyland series.

WINNER of the 2018 Silver Falchion Award for best police procedural published in 2017 at the Killer Nashville Writer's Conference.

A seemingly routine accidental shooting of a motorist is quickly solved by Detective Danny Boyland and his partner, Virgil “Spider” Webb. The shooter confesses and pleads guilty – too easily they both think, but their bosses close the case. A visit by FBI Agent Mike Havlek reveals the victim was in the witness protection program and was not the first, but the fourth one murdered. They join forces to investigate who is doing the murders, why the victims are being murdered, and who is providing the secret identities and locations of the victims. What they eventually discover leads them to the highest levels of power, money, and influence in the government and corporate worlds, and to a mysterious, clandestine group’s quest to synthesize a magic elixir capable of curing the one disease thought to be incurable – the disease of old age.

The Marsh Mallows, the fifth novel in the Danny Boyland series.

A single scream in the night begins New York Detective Danny Boyland’s investigation into the “crime of the decade.” Melanie Smith, a beautiful, blue-eyed blonde escort, has disappeared after her last date. The search for her leads to the discovery of numerous bodies in the swampy marshlands of Long Island’s south shore. Not only are blue- eyed blondes formerly employed in the sex trade turning up dead, but also several suspected drug mules, and a bevy of long-dead mobsters dating back to the Lufthansa heist in the 70s. From the Hamptons to Brooklyn, a three-pronged task force of the area’s top detectives sets out to solve the murders. Danny’s investigation leads him to the highest ranks of the New York Metropolitan Police Department, a meticulously crafted frame-up, and a resolution that will haunt him forever.

A finalist in the 2020 Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Awards

The Coastal Buzz - "... fashioned after the unsolved Gilgo Beach, Long Island serial killings, the novel opens with a shocking scenario with Detective Danny Boyland getting caught up in 'the crime of the century'... a slowly-tightening circle of suspects create suspense throughout..."

Judge, 28th Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards - "... a fine job of furthering the world of Danny Boyland. Prose was at its strongest when Hack worked inside Danny's mind, especially when Danny was confident and maneuvering through difficult situations..."

The Group, the sixth novel in the Danny Boyland series.

While vacationing in the North Carolina mountains, New York Metropolitan Police Dept. Detective Danny Boyland unwillingly gets assigned to assist the Jesper County sheriff to lead the murder investigation of a prominent local resident. Martin Bayard has been stabbed to death with two different knives, his body incurring 42 stab wounds. During the autopsy Danny discovers the 46 year-old Bayard has the physical appearance and internal organs of a man at least 20 years younger. He immediately suspects that Bayard may be a member of The Group, a mysterious organization dedicated to extending their longevity through genetic engineering, in order to achieve their goals of power and control over the nation. As Danny and his team close in on The Group, they are closing in on him, determined to eliminate this obstacle in their path to domination and immortality.

Judge, 29th Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards - "This is a fun read from the very first sentence, a fast-paced murder mystery, full of humor and charm, with a diverse cast of characters, a great setting, and a gripping story...this book has it all, and there's never a dull moment..."

Buy on Amazon

Broken Windows, the 7th novel in the Daniel Boyland series is here!

A wave of maimings and murders is sweeping across New York City. The victims are perpetrators of low-level street crimes - turnstile jumpers, squeegee guys, spitters and abusers of police officers, public urinators and defecators - all immediately released back on the street due to New York State's "No Cash Bail" laws. When the violence escalates to the murders of four City Council members who strongly support the "Defund the Police" movement, a forty-person Task Force is formed to solve the crimes. Detectives Danny Boyland and "Spider Webb" strongly suspect that police officers are the perpetrators and their investigation races to its climax in a violent political street battle for the heart, soul, and very survival of the City of New York.